From Broke AF to $5 Million in 90 Days with Grant Cardone

Can you make money without money?

Brock Swinson
3 min readAug 2, 2023

--

Photo Courtesy of Grant Cardone

“It’s hard when you got money…it’s impossible when you don’t.”

This was the sentiment Grant Cardone said to his handheld camera through tears and heartache.

Cardone, a real life Billionaire with a “B,” had agreed to do a new season of Undercover Billionaire.

The premise of the show is to strip away a successful entrepreneur’s name, assets, money, and connections.

Instead, you arm them with an old vehicle, a cell phone, and a $100 bill.

The idea is that viewers can see how a billionaire thinks to acquire wealth, to build something from nothing, and do it all within just 90 days.

At the time, it was maybe his first or second night and he had convinced an RV salesman to let him crash in an unsold RV for a few nights as he figured things out.

People love these stories because they honestly do make you feel like anything is possible, even when you have a short timeline and the odds are stacked against you.

This continuum that you’re reading now is sort of my own experiment.

I’ve always believed anyone can completely change their path in 30–90 days. We have enough information, thanks to the internet, we just need to focus for an extended period of time to put that info into effort.

There are countless differences between the two of us that there’s no use to get into. Instead I want to share the similarity that all entrepreneurs face when trying to build something from nothing.

Belief. Belief is the most difficult part.

Belief in yourself. Belief in what you’re doing. Belief you’re enough. Belief you’re capable. Belief you can make something from nothing.

It takes all of the confidence in the world to go from zero to one, but those same circumstances create the most doubt you’ve ever felt.

It’s one thing to talk about stoicism and someone else entirely to live it.

My insane goal is to 4x my income in about 60 days (45 days from now).

Here’s what I did today to move in that direction.

  • Publish Medium ✔️
  • Schedule Email ✔️
  • UpWork outreach 3x ✔️
  • Purpose training ✔️
  • Update Instagram ✔️
  • Rebuild website ✔️
  • Podcast interview ✔️
  • Run workout day 3 ✔️
  • Start tomorrow’s post ✔️

Note: this is not a blog, but a continuum of field notes devoted to goals in writing, filmmaking, entrepreneurship, health, fatherhood and husbandhood. Checklists represent actionable steps and daily accountability. Read Day 1.

Last night, I saw such a clear vision of my purpose. For a moment, it felt like everything I’m doing and everything I want to accomplish are connected and I just need to connect the pieces.

(Yesterday, I also befriended an iconic screenwriter I’ve always looked up to and saw our one-year-old take her very first steps.)

Today, my wife is sick and emotional drained from her job, we’ve got a plumbing issue that will wipe out my checking account, and no one has responded to my last stack of client outreach pitches.

That said, I can’t allow myself to believe Grant’s momentary lapse, as much as I do occasionally connect with it.

“It’s hard when you got money. It’s impossible when you don’t.”

Because here’s the thing. While quotes may live forever online, that was merely one moment of weakness in his insane 90-day sprint.

In the end, Cardone built a business worth over $5 million dollars in 90 days and he never even spent the $100 dollars he had in his pocket.

(You can’t steal Grant’s entire playbook in the extended replay right here.)

If you’re reading this, know it’s normal to feel the highs and lows as you chase the impossible. Those are all just feelings. You’re here to put your purpose to work. You’re here to take action.

.

.

.

If you’ve never completed such a challenge, you can test yourself with my 30-Day Prolific Writing Challenge, right here.

--

--